Oklahoma Protective Orders Lawyer
Protective orders are issued by a judge and primarily limit contact by outlining what a person can or cannot do. Protective orders are typical with cases of domestic abuse but also include situations involving stalking and harassment and are intended to protect an individual(s) from physical harm, the threat of imminent physical harm, intimidation, and harassment. In Oklahoma, filing for a protective order is not strictly limited to a dating or marital situation. Protective orders can be sought by any family or household member, including ex-spouses, an ex-spouse’s new spouse, grandparents, step-parents, adoptive or foster parents, or to unrelated persons who formerly lived in the same household. The attorneys at Worden Law Firm have years of experience handling protective orders with the intention of keeping our clients safe from harm.
About Protection Orders in Oklahoma
While it is true that a piece of paper cannot prevent acts of violence, it can provide a legal trail of allegations of abuse against an aggressor. There is a process to obtaining a protective order that must be met before the order can be issued. An individual seeking relief may file a petition for protective order in the county where they live, where the aggressor lives, or where the domestic violence occurred. In most instances, a complaint must be filed with a law enforcement agency against the aggressor and included in the petition. Protective orders can be issued as an emergency ex parte order with a full hearing on the petition being set within fourteen days if the court finds sufficient grounds to hold such a hearing. Upon completion of a hearing, if the protective order is issued, it shall remain in place for a fixed period not to exceed five years unless extended, modified, vacated or rescinded by motion of either party or if the court approves a consensual agreement between the parties.
Once a protective order has been issued, the appropriate law enforcement agencies are notified and the order is given statewide and nationwide validity. Any violation of the conditions of a protective order are considered a criminal matter and filed as either misdemeanor or felony depending on the circumstances.
There are serious penalties for violating a VPO in Oklahoma, including the following:
- If it is a first offense, the crime is considered a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000
- If it is a second or subsequent offense, the crime is considered a felony punishable by 1 to 3 years in jail and fines ranging from $2,000 to $10,000
- If the person who violated the VPO injures the victim, he or she is guilty of a misdemeanor with a sentence of anywhere from 20 days to 1 year in jail and serious fines up to $5,000
These are just a few examples of what can happen if a person violates a protective order in Oklahoma.
Worden Law Firm is Here to Help
Protective orders are some of the most sensitive and difficult cases, and for obvious reasons. If you are a victim of domestic abuse and need a VPO, contact the attorneys at Worden Law Firm today. We believe in doing the right thing by working tirelessly on your behalf, no matter what the situation is. In taking a hands-on approach to each and every case that comes across our desk, we are able to help our clients get the results they are looking for.
We understand how sensitive protective order cases are, which is why we encourage you to contact Worden Law Firm today to discuss your options. We approach each case with compassion and understanding, while still being direct and to-the-point. We will go over your case in detail and offer your legal expertise and on how to proceed moving forward, and represent you in the courtroom, should it come to that.